DIY Kindle Cover

frankenstein clothbound classic penguin

A little bit of a different post today, as I want to share the result of my latest crafty venture. My lovely Klevercase Kindle Cover – if you are not familiar with their amazing range of book-like kindle and tablet covers be sure to check them out here – was hanging on by a thread after years of being dragged everywhere. I decided to get crafty and create a DIY Kindle cover from a book myself after seeing the amazing range of clothbound classics by Penguin. I chose their beautiful Frankenstein cover and got crafty. Feeling creative, I somehow forget to take photo’s of all the steps (oops) but it is all really simple.

diykindlecover2

I should explain I cheated a little by re-using the plastic protector from the Klevercase cover. If you don’t have or can’t source something similar online, you can also glue together the pages of your chosen book and cut out a space for your Ereader to sit in. Carefully remove the pages by cutting the binding between the cover and bound pages. If you book has endpapers (colored pages before and after the actual block of pages), be sure to leave those in as you can use them to cover the exposed spine. Alternatively, buy beautiful paper and re-paper the entire inside of the cover. I used paper glue to glue the endpages to the interior of the cover and spine and strong doublesided tape to stick the plastic cover to the inside. This was really quick and easy and I am thrilled with the results.


frankenstein clothbound classic penguin

Vandaag wilde ik mijn laatste creatieve uiting met jullie delen, een beetje anders dan normaal dus. Mijn geweldige Klevercase Kindle Hoes – als je nog niet bekend bent met deze supermooie boek-achtige hoesjes voor Ereaders en tablets bekijk ze dan hier – was na jaren intensief gebruik aan vervanging toe. Ik besloot zelf een hoes voor mijn Kindle Ereader te maken nadat ik de geweldige reeks Clothbound Classics van uitgeverij Penguin tegenkwam. Ik koos de mooie Frankenstein kaft en ging aan de slag. Terwijl ik lekker bezig was ben ik wel vergeten foto’s te nemen van alle stappen (oeps) maar het is allemaal heel simpel.

diykindlecover2

Ik moet wel toegeven dat ik een beetje vals heb gespeeld door de plastic beschermhoes uit de Klevercase cover opnieuw te gebruiken. Als je niet zo’n soort plastic hoesje hebt of kunt krijgen, kun je ook de bladzijdes van het boek aan elkaar lijmen en een holte uitsnijden voor je Ereader. Verwijder voorzichtig alle bladzijden door de verbinding tussen de kaft en het ingebonden papier los te snijden. Als je boek zogeheten endpapers (stevige bladzijden direct voor en na de rest van de gewone bladzijden) heeft, laat deze dan wel zitten omdat je ze kunt gebruiken om de blootgelegde rug aan de binnenzijde af te plakken. Je kunt er ook voor kiezen om mooi papier te kopen en hiermee de hele binnenzijde te bedekken. Ik heb gewone papierlijm gebruikt voor het bekleden van de binnenzijde en sterk dubbelzijdig plakband om het plastic beschermhoesje op zijn plek te zetten. Dit was echt heel erg makkelijk en snel en ik ben supertevreden met het resultaat.

13 thoughts on “DIY Kindle Cover

  1. Nadine January 7, 2015 / 1:24 pm

    I love this idea, Anne! It’s such a clever alternative to boring cases and I love cloth bound books. They always look beautiful! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anne January 7, 2015 / 5:04 pm

      I agree Nadine, this series in particular is amazing 🙂 I looked at some awesome leatherbound books as well but they tend to be too large for a ereader cover.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nadine January 7, 2015 / 5:58 pm

        Your’s is just perfect! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Anne January 7, 2015 / 5:05 pm

      Thanks Karen. Your crafty efforts are very inspirational, though I am a bit of a lazy crafter: minimal effort requiered on this one.x Anne

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karen Rees January 7, 2015 / 11:39 pm

        You’re so welcome lovely 🙂 Oh Anne don’t be fooled… I’m a bit of a lazy crafter myself – the simpler the better in my books!! A grumpy Karen covered in craft glue is never a pretty sight!! lol x

        Liked by 1 person

        • Anne January 8, 2015 / 10:17 am

          Good to know…I thought I was the inly one who got upset when itsn’t as simple or quick as I had imagined 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Karen Rees January 8, 2015 / 6:13 pm

            Definitely not… I’m on that wavelength with you 😀 X

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment